Loving Librarians: 2023 Love My Librarian Award Honorees

Loving Librarians: 2023 Love My Librarian Award Honorees

There’s an annual award called “Love My Librarian Award,” which recognizes “libraries everywhere. We promote the value of libraries and librarians, explain key issues affecting libraries, advocate for the freedom of information and the right to read, and urge readers everywhere to support and take action for their libraries.” There are ten honorees this year, listed as follows:

Kathryn Blackmer Reyes

San José State University

San José, California

“Her passion and love for her profession is infectious.”


Vikki Brown

Highlands County Library System

Sebring, Florida

“Her dedication is the stuff that dreams are made of.”


Cara Chance

Lafayette Public Library

Carencro, Louisiana

“Cara Chance exemplifies everything a librarian should be.”


Tara Coleman

Kansas State University

Manhattan, Kansas

“Tara has helped make a reading practice one of the signature things one does at Kansas State.”


David Ettinger

George Washington University

Washington, DC

“David is an outstanding colleague and citizen of the university.”


Julie Marie Frye

Childs Elementary School

Bloomington, Indiana

“She approaches students of all ages with a keen devotion to their unique inquiries and literacy needs.”


Lauren Ginsberg DeVilbiss

Wright Brothers School

New York City

“Lauren Ginsberg-DeVilbiss is a testament to how vital an inspiring library is for a child’s development.”


Jamie M. Gregory

Christ Church Episcopal School

Greenville, South Carolina

“Her library is a springboard for empowering people to value lifelong learning.”


Roseanna Gulisano

The Highbridge School

Bronx, New York

“Roseanna Gulisano is our school librarian, but her nickname should be Wonder Woman.”


Elacsha Madison

Evanston Public Library

Evanston, Illinois

“There’s nothing about this librarian that the community doesn’t love.”

The criteria used for selecting candidates according to the site:

Each librarian nominee must:

  • Hold a master’s degree from a program accredited by the American Library Association in library and information studies or a master’s degree with a specialty in school library media from an educational unit accredited by the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation.

  • Be currently working in the United States in a public library, a library at an accredited two- or four-year college or university, or a library at an accredited K-12 school, or have been working at one of these institutions as of March 1, 2022.

We receive hundreds of nominations each year for the I Love My Librarian Award, but only ten librarians can be selected per award cycle. The nominations are done for this year, but be sure to nominate a great librarian for 2024!